New Chief of Hellenic Air Force, Air Marshal Themistoklis Bourolias
Defence Redefined
Published on 27/01/2022 at 16:30

Air Marshal Themistoklis Bourolias is the new Chief of the Hellenic Air Force General Staff. After today’s meeting of the Government Council of National Security under Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis, several decisions regarding changes in the Air Force Command have been made. 

Specifically, the Council has decided the ex-officio discharge of Air Marshal Georgios Blioumis, Chief of the Hellenic Air Force General Staff, and the appointment of Air Marshal Themistoklis Bourolias, Chief of the Hellenic Tactical Air Force, in the position of Chief of the Hellenic Air Force. Furthermore, Air Marshal Georgios Fasoulas is to take the position of Air Marshal Themistoklis Bourolias as he has been appointed Chief of the Hellenic Tactical Air Force General Staff.

Curriculum Vitae of the new Chief of the Hellenic Air Force General Staff

Air Marshal Themistoklis Bourolias was born in Ilioupoli, Attica. He joined the Hellenic Air Force Academy in 1980 and was nominated Pilot Officer in 1984. He has served as Chief of the Hellenic Tactical Air Force since January 2019. He is responsible for the Greek Air Defence and exercises control and management across the National Airspace. In addition, he is responsible for organizing, training, equipping and maintaining the combat capability and operational readiness of the Hellenic Air Force warplanes for their immediate deployment in both peacetime and wartime.

The new Chief is a graduate of:

  • the Supreme Joint War College;
  • the Squadron Officers School of the USAF Air University (USA);
  • the Intelligence Officers Academy;
  • the Ground Instructors School;
  • the School of Tactical Weapons;
  • the Water Survival School;
  • the ASE Survive to Operate Evaluators Course (NSO, Germany);
  • the Flying Supervisors Course (UK);
  • the Joint Personnel Recovery Course (PRETC MTT, USA);
  • the JFAC Commanders Course (France).

Medals – Insignia:

  • Brigadier of Order of Honour;
  • Senior Brigadier of Order of the Phoenix;
  • Medal of Military Merit (Class A’);
  • Honour Service Award;
  • Formation Leadership Service Award – Major Unit (Class B);
  • Prosperous Command Service Award (Class A’);
  • Staff Officer Service Award (Class B’);
  • Joint Service Commendation (USA);
  • Gran Cruz del Merito Aeronautico con Distintivo Blanco (Spain).

Also read: 332nd Squadron “Falcon” | Rafales to replace the Mirage 2000s – Photos & VIDEO





Pin It on Pinterest

Share This