Russia | Decision to include Greece in the list of “unfriendly countries”
Defence Redefined
Published on 22/07/2022 at 15:50

The Russian government has announced that it is expanding the list of “unfriendly countries” to Russia, by including Greece, Denmark, Croatia, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

According to the relevant decision, signed today by the Prime Minister of the Russian Federation, Mikhail Mishustin, this list includes the countries that “implement unfriendly actions against Russia, especially against its diplomatic and consular missions abroad.”

According to the relevant Presidential Decree of the Kremlin, “unfriendly countries” face restrictions in entering into employment contracts with local personnel, who live and work permanently in Russia. 

As announced by the Russian government, a limit of 34 on-site personnel is imposed for Greece, 20 for Denmark, and 16 for Slovakia, while Croatia and Slovenia are prohibited from hiring any employees at their consulates and embassies in Russia.

Diplomatic sources clarified to APA MPA that the new measure will practically not have any additional consequence on the existing operation of the Greek embassy and consulates of Greece on Russian territory.

Commenting on the Russian government’s decision, Kremlin spokesman, Dmitry Peskov, said that “it is natural that the inclusion in the list of unfriendly countries brings about a reduction in the level of contacts” with the states which were announced.

Also read: Russia | Consular authorities of Greece reissue visas to Russian citizens




Pin It on Pinterest

Share This